Our Leaders

Alpha Phi Omega is led by a diverse group of members who are elected by their brothers. These individuals dedicate themselves to serving APO and guiding the Fraternity as we strive towards our goal of 500 chapters by 2025. The Alpha Phi Omega Board of Directors, as prescribed by the National Bylaws, is the governing body of the Fraternity between national conventions. The Board has the power (within the confines of the Bylaws) to act on all matters it deems to be in the best interest of the Fraternity. 

The Board of Directors consists of the following elected, appointed and ex-officio members:


·        National President
·        National Vice President
·        Four District Representatives 
·        Three Directors At-Large

  • National Executive Director
  • National Legal Counsel
  • Immediate Past National President

  • Two additonal Directors At-Large
  • Additional Past National President

The National Operations Council consists of the following elected, appointed and ex-officio members:

Program Chairs:
  • Alumni Relations
  • International Relations
  • Service
  • Membership
  • Extension
  • Leadership Development
  • Volunteer Development
  • Education & Operations

11 Regional Chairs

Ex-Officio Member:
  • National Executive Director

The Board is required to meet at least annually. Actions taken by the Board are reported to chapters in Torch & Trefoil, the Fraternity's quarterly magazine. 

Under the restructured Board, approved at the 2014 National Convention and taking effect at the 2016 National Convention, each convention will elect the National President, National Vice President, four District Representatives and three Directors At-Large. After the election, the Board of Directors then appoints two more Directors At-Large and an additional Past National President, who will serve as an Ex-Officio Member. 

The restructured Board also introduces the National Operations Council that consists of eight  Program Chairs, appointed by the National President and approved by the Board of Directors and the National Student Advisory Committee; 11 Regional Chairs, elected by the chapters in the respective regions; and the National Executive Director serving as an Ex-Officio member. 

In addition, each region contains sections which are lead by sectional chairs. The Fraternity currently has 63 sectional chairs in office. Sectional chairs are voted into office yearly at their conferences. Each section contains any and all chapters within the set geographical boundaries.